Goblin Order Received! Let the Games Begin!

12 05 2009

Just another quick update on my Battlelore Upgrade Project.

I received my Splintered Light Goblins Order yesterday. It was packaged well and the sculpts were crisp and look like they will paint up a treat. I’m particularly pleased with the Terror Birds and Hill Giant which are especially great sculpts.

This evening I sat down and glued them all to washers in preperation to be based and undercoated.

Click on the photo to enlarge it. πŸ™‚

Goblin Minis

So I certainly have my work cut out for me over the next few weeks! πŸ™‚

I also got some samples from their Splintered Lands Dwarf Range. Seriously, these are some of the best Dwarf sculpts going around (I was going to limit that to 15mm, but I think they are that good.)

They are the same height as the Battlelore Dwarfs, but are a bit bulkier in places and smaller in others. SLM have minis to replace all the Dwaf units in the game except Bagpipers, Cowriders and Spearmen. So I can only hope Splintered Light have some spearmen and riders in the making. If they have riders, I can sub in some either Buffalo or Horkuns for their mounts. I know some people (probably most notably Jim) would think that subbing the Dwarf Bagpipe players for Dwarf Hornblowers would be sacralidge, but that may be an option also.

Here is a photo of the scale of the Dwarf minis.

Dwarf Comparison

I also placed my Hexon II order yesterday and so they will be on their way over as well. Its all getting very exciting now. πŸ™‚

If anyone has any recommendations for 15mm Humans that will serve as replacements for the Human Battlelore figures, please let me know.

I intend on replacing the Troll figure with either the new Troll figure from Splintered Light Minis

or the Troll figure from Otherworld Minis.

The Giant Spider will be hopefully replaced by Ebob‘s Giant Spider.

No idea on the Earth Elemental yet…

I’ll hopefully update later in the week with some painting. πŸ™‚

– Ben.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 05 2009
Paul

Great stuff – I like the first troll and the ebob spider in particular. I’m really looking forward to seeing how this all comes together as my BL stuff is sitting waiting for some attention too. I dont suppose you are in the Canberra area are you?

cheers!
Paul

12 05 2009
boromirandkermit

Thanks Paul!
Unfortunately no, I’m down in Victoria. Great to see another Aussie Wargamer about though! πŸ™‚
Ben.

Leave a Reply

