Upgrading Battlelore

2 05 2009

Battlelore is a game I have enjoyed from the day it was released. A simple, yet deep, tactical battle game.

I currently own all the expansions to it (even the dodgy Troll one… don’t even ask) and have played many great games with them. If you take a gander over at the Battlelore section on Board Game Geek, you will see a plethora of fantastically painted miniatures that people have done over the years. It certainly is a great feat to complete the painting of all your Battlelore minis. I myself have attempted to paint them over the years – rather unsuccessfully. To be honest, I have about 15 units painted up and based with a system that I thought would work for me.Battlelore Collection

You see, one of Battlelore’s greatest criticisms, is that it takes ages to set up. So alot of people have designed basing systems that allow the models to be stored in units. Jim over at Board Game Geek comes to mind straight away – he has a complete painted set which is fully based – congratulations mate – fantasic job!

I know I’m rambling a bit at the moment, but I’m trying to get to the fact that I don’t really like the style of Battlelore miniatures… I LOVE the game, but the miniatures are for me, not the greatest. I find the bendy plastic a pain to paint and the sculpts themselves are a little plain for my liking. Call me crazy, but recently I started a massive project that I know will take me a long time. A project to upgrade Battlelore.

Upgrading Battlelore needs to be for more than aesthetic reasons though (even if they are the primary concern 🙂 ), so I needed to make a list of priorities which the project would follow:

  • The miniatures need to look great
  • The board needs to look great
  • The miniatures need to based in a way that is easy to store and speeds up setup
  • The miniatues need to based in a way that I can reuse them for other games
  • The bases need to be created in a way that I can use them for other games
  • The board needs to be capable of fitting the new basing system effectively

So with these ideas in mind, I set off in search of the holy grail. 🙂

My first find was the Hexon II Terrain boards which are distributed by Kallistra… these things are AWESOME and are exactly what I need. They have a flat depth of 100mm which also gives me a guide for my basing requirements. I can buy the Hexon II Terrain boards unflocked so that I can match my basing to the board and they sell single hexes so that I can make the terrain hexes present in Battlelore. I will need to find out how much of the stuff I need before ordering as it is fairly pricing with shipping to Australia. Depending on the cost, I can buy enough for an Epic board as well… maybe that’s pie in the sky stuff though 🙂

The next stop was to find some miniatures that fit the part to replace the Battlelore ones. 15mm miniatures are the rough sizing I am after. There is a multitude of excellent miniatures in this scale to cover pretty much everything released so far. My only  concerns were for the Lizard riding Goblins, the Ostrich Riding Goblins and the Cattle Riding Dwarfs…

BUT! Splintered Light Miniatures has two out of these three covered! If you click on the Miscellaneous models section of the site, you will come across both Komodo Dragon mounts and Terror Birds! Simply add in some light mounted goblins from their Goblinoid range and hey presto! Some excellent models. The Cattleriders could be a problem, but since I’m sticking with a similar scale, I can simply rebase those minis onto 25mm washers. Easy.

So far I have two rather large orders from Splintered Light Miniatures and Kallistra in the making… its just the bases I need now… what to do…

THIS!

battlelore-goblin-light-infantry

The basing simply follows on from my previous basing article except it uses 80mm x 40mm bases with a very small hole drilled in the middle of the back of the base for the flag to sit in. All the infantry models are based on 20mm washers.

For cavalry models, the bases are 80mm x 60mm and the cavalry are based on 25mm washers.

I can also reuse these bases for HOTT or MA and with the flag being removable, I could create a banner for the unit to show what type it is (for example a Blade unit might have blades, Spear unit might have Spears etc…)

Needless to say I’m very excited about this project and I hope to keep you up to date on how its travelling in the near future.
Any comments or suggestions are more than welcome! Thanks for reading. 🙂

– Ben.

Actions

Information

One response

28 12 2010
Rich

Not to comment on a 2 year old posting, but, I just came across this blog (via theminiaturespage) and thought this was worth a shot. I started my own Battlelore project and was using the original cases, and adding new figures to them (for example http://www.boardgamegeek.com/image/819162/battlelore). The problem being that one only gets empty bases if you discard the figure which seems like a waste. I saw that you were cutting off the original bases and just using the figures for part of your project.
I was wondering if you by chance kept the bases you had cut off and also if you would consider selling them.
Thanks,
Rich

Leave a Reply

