Making Your Own Nuthin’ But Net Court

13 03 2009

I’ve had a couple of people message me in regards to some more detail on how I made the Nuthin But Net 3D court. Right about now I’m thinking – “Why didn’t I take more photos!”

Oh well – too late for that…

PS. Sorry about my Hobbit-like feet being inthe photo – I had to stand on the table to get a good shot of the whole board as its dark here at the moment.

full-court

The reason my court is a full court is that it lets me demo/run two games at once and also allows for a possible future full court expansion.

I’ll try and write down step by step how I made the board – it was VERY easy to do – the only slow bit was the marking of the hexes on the court.

I have a feeling I’ll be doing some team themed half courts in the near future, but for now – here we go.

MATERIALS

600mm x 800mm x 20mm MDF board

450mm x 600mm x 12mm Blue High Density Polystyrene

Hex template with 20mm sides (simply drawn on a graphics program, printed on card and cut out)

Ball point pen

Skewers

Cork

40mm x 30mm x 3mm Wooden base

Acrylic paints

Large paintbrush

PVA Glue

Wood Putty

Flock

Instructions

The first thing I did was to find the centre of the MDF board. This was easy and only involved ruling a line from corner to opposite corner.

I then placed the HD Poly foam so that each corner was in line with the diagonal lines. This helped me to place the foam centrally on the board. I also double checked by measuring the distance from the edge of the MDF and the HD Foam on each side.

I marked out where this sat, but did NOT glue it down yet. This is important.

Next I found the halfway line on the court and marked it lightly with the pen. I also marked the centre of the court vertically as well. This gave me a guide for laying out the hexes. I worked from the center hex to the outside ones, tracing each using the hex template. This sounds pretty innaccurate and to be honest it wasn’t the most accurate way to do it, but its really close enough for what I wanted.

When I was happy with the placement of the hexes, I used the ball point pen to score the foam.
I did this by pressing harder whilst holding the pen on a 45 degree angle. This gave a nice indent to the outside of each hex.

If you need to trim the edges after laying out and scoring the hexes, do so now. Then use the marks you left on the MDF before to find the center again and use PVA glue to glue it down. I drew a border around the edge of the foam and then criss-crossed using the PVA. To help the adhesion, I pressed down on the foam until the PVA spewed out the edges. I then used my finger to wipe this PVA up the sides of the foam. This will help seal it.

I left this to dry overnight basically – you want to make sure this is really dry before moving on.

I got a pot of black acrylic paint from Riot Art – very cheap as its only your undercoat. Get your paintbrush and dip it in the paint and then lightly in some water. Use this method to get the paint semi-runny so that it flows into the indents in the foam. You want it completely covered for when you seal it later. If its not covered, when you seal it, it will melt the polystyrene.

Once this is dry, you can sculpt the ground around the court using wood putty. You could really use anything you would normally texture stuff with (spack filler, rocks, sand etc…)

Leave it to dry and then undercoat with black as well.

I used textured paint on the court and then used a thin brush to paint on the Arc, foul line and half court line.I used a two different sample pots of paint (two colours that are close) to paint the terrain and then decorated with flock. I also added some small bits of flock to some of the hexes to break up the brown. 🙂

half-court

The basketball rings were really simple to make.

The base was simply a small piece of HD Polystyrene foam. A skewer was cut to an good looking size and stuck in slightly diagonally to the base. This was then glued down.

The backboard is an old base I had lying around, but could just as easily be a strong piece of card. It is 40mm x 30mm and was handpainted. 1/3 of a cork needs to be cut off carefully and glued to the back of the board. Once dry, skewer the skewer into the cork on the backboard so that it sits flush with the court. Glue it in place.

The basket is simply a piece of card rolled into a circle and glued to the board.

So there you have it – a simple and fun way to make your own 3D court for Nuthin’ But Net! The paper one provided with the game is excellent, but there is nothing quite like playing on a fully customised court like this. It really makes it special.

Thanks for reading. 🙂

Ben.

Actions

Information

One response

18 03 2009
Andrew Beasley

Thanks for that Ben – well not for the feet but for the build notes 🙂
Anrew

Leave a Reply

