Ahhhh… Holidays at Last!

22 12 2008

First of all, let me apologise for the lack of updates lately. If any of you guys are teachers out there, you can atest to the craziness that is the last few weeks of school. I’ve had to move classrooms and will be teaching grade 5s instead of 2s next year… so there has been a lot to do. πŸ™‚

Well, anyway, here I find myself at the end of another long, but rewarding year. It was sad to have to say goodbye to my grade two-ers as they were a great bunch of kids. But it now means I have plenty of time to concentrate on my projects.

I have been writing like a madman lately and so haven’t got much stuff painted, but it now means that Twilight (Dusk Now) is now very close to being opened up to playtesters. I just need to finish off a scenario or two and clarify some points and then the call will go out. πŸ™‚ *Cue Kermit the Frog like ‘Yaaaaay!’ with flailing arms*

I have finalised the design for the Song of Blades and Heroes cards, but the release will be put back a bit while I sort some stuff out. It does look like I will be able to get physical cards though which is great news! Here is the final design below.

card-1-cave-troll

I have also been working on another project more recently that I’m very excited about. I’m having an absolute blast writing it and hopefully I’ll be able to tell you all more about it soonish.

I have painted a few miniatures, notably some stands of 10mm Night Goblins and two Teddies. One Colonial Teddy Bear – Sir Maurice Fursworth and a native Teddy Bear that looks a lot like a Koala (note the gum leaf shield). I just love these guys. Almost as much as the Frogs… they just have sooo much character. They are made by Eureka Miniatures.

After some discussion the other day, I’ve decided to paint some of the Married Zulu Teddies (natives) as Koalas, with their feather headdresses a Sulphur Yellow colour (like a Cockatoo) – trying to make them distinctly Australian.

Here are some photos of my most recently painted miniatures.

night-goblin-stands

sir-maurice-fursworth

native-teddy

I have also began making a 3 foot square terrain board to play Song of Blades and Heroes on. I know I already have the 2’x3′ one, but because the terrain is fixed, it’s become a bit stock standard to play on. The 3′ square one will feature movable terrain pieces. This way the battlefield is always fresh, and I can use it for SoBH or Twilight, which will cut down on my storage space alot… now to try and offload some of my other boards.

3x3-board

My demo board for Nuthin’ But Net is almost complete, which is great. Then I can get started on converting some minis for a Kermitian team. πŸ™‚

I think I’m really going to enjoy these holidays! πŸ˜€

Merry Christmas to everyone and their families!

– Ben.

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 08 2010
sirrob01

Ben,
realize this a bit of an old post but whatever happened to your Songs cards above you were designing?

29 08 2010
boromirandkermit

They sort of halted due to other projects.
There didn’t seem to be much demand for them either, but I still have the templates ready to go if people were still interested.

29 08 2010
sirrob01

Not sure if I count as people :). But I would certainly be interested not sure if anyone else is.

5 09 2010
boromirandkermit

I’ll add it back into my list of things then. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the interest πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

