10mm Mighty Armies – Boromir with Citadel Guard

6 06 2008

I’ve been creating some Mighty Armies… erm… armies using some 10mm models from Eureka, Copplestone Castings and Games Workshop.

I’ve been using 40mm frontages with a 20mm depth for the majority of stands. For larger units or monsters (such as the Balrog, Smaug, Ents etc…) I’ve been using 40mm square stands.

Here is a sample stand that I finished painting last night. It is Boromir with his personal bodyguard. He is usable as a General in a Gondor army in the 3rd Age when Denethor or Aragorn are not present.

I’m really enjoying painting the 10mm scale stuff. More soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

– Ben.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 09 2008
Andrew

10mm? Great, elephants! That’s small! I have been painting my first 15mm army (DBA Ancient Dacians), and I really don’t care for it. I’m happy with 20mm plastics, but it seems that’s my limit. Do you have any of Copplestone’s 10mm LoTR models? Of course, they aren’t official licensed minis, so I should say, Copplestone’s “generic fantasy” models.

18 09 2008
boromirandkermit

I do have some of Copplestone’s 10mm “generic fantasy” ๐Ÿ˜‰ line. All the warriors of Minas Tirith, Boromir, the Uruks, Ringwraiths and Saruman are all from Copplestone. You can check them out on the Mighty Armies page. ๐Ÿ™‚
I find the 10mm fairly quick and easy to paint. Washes and black lining are your friends! But I must admit, I can’t paint alot of them in quick succession. I certainly need a break in between. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

