SLM Mini Review Villager Personalities Part 1

22 09 2010

Well, I’ve just finished painting up four of the six Splintered Light Miniatures Villager Personalities. I’ve painted the four that most people would recognise. The other two are outstanding sculpts as well, but I can’t place my finger on who they represent.

The Villager Personalities pack contains six figures and is available from Splintered Light Miniatures.

I have found that out of the four figures I’ve painted, all are nice, clean sculpts with lots of great detail to pick out. In fact, while painting them, the urge to do so for a display was very strong. Lucky I bought a second packet just for that! :)

The Toad Villager was the first sculpt that I painted. Boy oh boy is that a really nice figure to paint. The only issue was some tiny little vent tails that I needed to tidy up, one of which I missed, forcing me to repaint a small section of the figure. But this was probably due to my eagerness to get started. It is one of the larger figures in the set, being shorter than Badger, but more rotund. He is about 18mm to the top of his eyes. The sculpt really shows off the exuberance of Toad, with the huge grin and upraised arms. A truly lovely sculpt to paint.

Click on the photo for a larger version

The Badger Villager was the second figure I painted. It was a very nice sculpt with little to no clean up required. It was incredibly easy to paint effectively and would be a great model to start with from the set. It is around 22mm to the top of his head. His jacket is very nicely done, with the way he is holding his head, very reminiscent of the character he is based on.

Click on the picture for a larger version

The last two figures I’ve painted were the Mole Villager and the Water Rat Villager. Both are very nicely done, but I think the Mole Villager was the better of the two. He is rather small (same scale as the other Mole figures in the SLM range) but the detail on his jacket is fantastic. With his cute little face sniffing the air, he really looks the part. The Water Rat Villager is very nicely done too – especially the detail on his jacket/coat. The things that I thought made it the weakest of the four sculpts (which doesn’t mean much as its still an excellent piece) is perhaps the hat, which I thought was too large – was expecting more of a boatman’s hat like Toad’s and his eyes/face which I found much more challenging to paint than the other characters. This is most probably a limitation of my skills more than anything, but thought it was worth mentioning none the less.

Click on the picture to see a larger version

So there we have four of the Villager’s pack. If anyone knows who the other two figures are supposed to be – a Lady Muskrat and a Gentleman Rabbit, please let me know, as I’d like to paint them accordingly.

On the SBH Yahoo group, there is a great set of stats that will allow you to use these figures in a game of Song of Blades and Heroes. They are written by sosullivan18 and can be found here. Bear in mind you must be a member to see them. I really like the stats, but will most likely make some minor adjustments to fit my image of the characters, which I will upload here when they are done. But check out sosullivan18’s as they work very nicely and may just be right for you! :)

Until next time,

Cheers,
Ben.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 09 2010
Hank

Very nicely done.

2 10 2010
Alan

Very nice work Ben, especially on Toad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

